View from the Mountain – A Moment in Time

GrampsFor many years, my family hunted mule deer in the rugged Guadalupe mountains in southeastern New Mexico. In those days, finding deer wasn’t a problem either. It was not uncommon for us to spot over 100 deer a day, and in some cases while we were sitting around the campfire at lunch!

The trip to the Guadalupes was rugged enough, requiring almost a 50 mile drive over a dirt road. Although our small farm north of Lovington seemed remote and rural, it was nothing compared to this vast, wild country.

In those days, the schools gave all the kids five days excused absence to go deer hunting, so time was never really a problem. Throughout the 1970’s and well into the latter part of the 1980’s, my dad, brother and sometimes my mother or some friends, would make the annual trip to our hunting area near the west rim of the Guadalupes.

In most years, we did come back with a deer and in some cases all three of us would harvest. Even into the late 1980’s, while my brother and I were attending school in Las Cruces we were still harvesting animals.

I have few pictures of this era, likely due to the fact that I didn’t own a camera and being men, we usually relied on mom to bring the camera and take the pictures. However, I do own a few and those that are around are precious. Cameras never let the moment go, they grab time and put it in a capsule. As I view the pictures, I see my dad as a young man, likely around my current age. At the time he seemed old, as I likely do to my kids. But, he was mobile, still had a spring in his step, and could pack out animals with the best of them. Looking at the pictures, it doesn’t seem that long ago, but nearing 30 years now, it is a lifetime in human terms. However, in God’s terms, it is but a moment in time.

As I look back now, I realize how short and fleeting this life on earth is and never another day is promised along the way. We put emphasis and purpose on what is happening right now, however, if we are ever burdened so much along the way as to forget what time looks like to God, we are missing the point.

Looking at old pictures, makes us realize how fragile and important our lives can be. We must make the most of each moment in time, for while eternal life is a free gift given by God’s grace, each of us will be judged by Christ. We will be rewarded for how we have lived each of our moments.

“So whether we are her in this body or away from this body, our goal is to please him. For we must all stand before Christ to be judged. We will each receive whatever we deserve for the good or evile we have done in this earthly body.” 2 Corinthians 5:9-10

Until next time,

Jeff

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment